Global Running News  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Deutsch Laufzeit      Carrera española      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

Devers, Greene lead Hall of Fame Class

Gail Devers

Gail Devers

INDIANAPOLIS – USA Track & Field announced Tuesday the selection of all-time track and field greats Gail Devers, Maurice Greene, Vince Matthews, and Clarence Demar, along with standout coach Bob Timmons, into the National Track & Field Hall of Fame.

The five will be inducted into the National Track & Field Hall of Fame, along with 2010 Hall selection Craig Virgin, on Saturday evening, December 3, at the Jesse Owens Hall of Fame Banquet, which will be held in conjunction with 2011 USATF Annual Meeting in St. Louis, Mo.

USATF today (Tuesday) will host a teleconference with Devers, Greene, Matthews and Virgin. For dialing information and specifics, see the bottom of this announcement.

Devers, Greene selected as “moderns”
Devers, a three-time Olympic gold medalist, Greene, a two-time Olympic gold medalist and former world record holder, and Virgin, a two-time World Cross Country individual champion, all made the Hall of Fame as Modern Athletes, which include those retired less than 25 years. Virgin was elected to the Hall of Fame in 2010, but deferred his induction until this year when the Annual Meeting was scheduled to take place in St. Louis, near his current hometown.

Matthews, a two-time Olympic gold medalist, and Demar, a seven-time winner of the Boston Marathon, will be inducted as Veteran Athletes as each has been retired for longer than 25 years.

Timmons, who coached seven Olympians, 16 world record holders and mentored Jim Ryun to the first sub-4-minute high school mile, will be inducted representing the Coaches.