Global Running News  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Deutsch Laufzeit      Carrera española      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

Lewy Boulet named Athlete of the Week

Lewy Boulet, a member of the 2008 Olympic marathon team, is the first American to win the Falmouth Road Race since Jen Rhines in 2003.

Lewy BouletLewy Boulet paced herself with the lead pack of runners for most of the seven-mile race. A few runners fell back, and soon it was Lewy Boulet and Diane Nukuri-Johnson of Burundi at the front.

“At mile one, I thought I was in the second pack,” Lewy Boulet said. “Once I realized I was in the lead pack, that kind of changed my strategy, and I started pushing the pace a little bit. I felt good, so I just went for it.”

With one mile to go, Lewy Boulet made her move, and Nukuri-Johnson couldn’t match her surge. She crossed the line in 36:58, a full 15 seconds ahead of the Nukuri-Johnson, who finished second.

“It was my first time at Falmouth, and I was excited to be there,” she said. “I’m very grateful to walk away with the win.”

Now in its tenth year, USATF’s Athlete of the Week program is designed to recognize outstanding performers at all levels of the sport. USATF names a new honoree each week and features the athlete on the USATF website. Selections are based on top performances and results from the previous week.

Winners: January 5, Bill Tribou; January 12, Tyler Sorensen; January 20, Josh Cox; January 26,Ben Shorey; February 2, Ashton Eaton; February 9, Ashton Eaton; February 16, Bernard Lagat; February 23, Ryan Crouser; March 2, Jillian Camarena-Williams; March 10, Bill Collins; March 16, Miles Batty; March 23, Shalane Flanagan; March 30, John Nunn; April 6, Aries Merritt; April 13, Gunnar Nixon; April 20, Desiree Davila; April 27, Nolan Shaheed; May 4, Emma Coburn; May 11, Willie Gault; May 18, English Gardner; May 25, Kibwé Johnson; June 1, Khadevis Robinson; June 8, Carmelita Jeter; June 15, Lukas Verzbicas; June 22, Aisling Cuffe; June 29, Trevor Barron; July 6, Aldrich Bailey; July 13, Jillian Camarena-Williams; July 20, Johnnye Valien; July 27, Bernard Lagat; August 3, Marcus Krah; August 9, Leo Manzano; August 17, Magdalena Lewy Boulet