Global Running News  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Deutsch Laufzeit      Carrera española      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

Miller, Kampf take mile titles

Heather Kampf

Heather Kampf

MINNEAPOLIS – Craig Miller (Madison, Wis.) and Heather Kampf (Minneapolis, Minn.) took the respective men’s and women’s titles at the USA 1 Mile Road Championships Thursday evening in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Warm, windy conditions met the competitors for the fourth annual championships, causing both fields to take a conservative approach to the early stages of the race. Kampf used a late burst to outrun the field in the last 400 meters, propelling herself to a decisive win over Alisha Williams (Colorado Springs, Colo.). Kampf was timed in 4:36.9 with Williams following in 4:39.6. Danielle Tauro (Manahawkin, N.J.) took third in 4:40.0.

The men’s race saw the majority of the field still tightly packed with 250 meters to go when Aaron Braun (Flagstaff, Ariz.) made his bid for his first U.S. title but Miller, who Braun outkicked for second in 2011, had one more gear, pulling ahead of Braun in the final 100 meters. Miller took his first U.S. title, running 4:04.3 with Braun less than a second behind in 4:05.1. Scott Smith, Braun’s McMillan Elite teammate, took third in 4:06.9.

The championships were hosted for the fourth year by the Medtronic TC 1 Mile and featured a total of $20,000 in prize money with Miller and Kampf each earning $4,000 for their titles.

8th Medtronic TC 1 Mile: USA Men’s & Women’s Championship
Minneapolis, MN, Thursday, May 17, 2012


1) Craig Miller (WI), 4:04.3, $4000
2) Aaron Braun (AZ), 4:05.1, $2500
3) Scott Smith (AZ), 4:06.9, $1500
4) Kenyon Neuman (CO), 4:07.5, $800
5) Bobby Mack (NC), 4:07.8, $500
6) Benjamin Bruce (AZ), 4:08.8, $325
7) Edwin Sang (CO), 4:09.5, $150
8) Chris Rombough (MN), 4:10.0, $100
9) Jordan Horn (AZ), 4:10.8, $75
10) Darren Brown (TN), 4:11.9, $50


1) Heather Kampf (MN), 4:36.9, $4000
2) Alisha Williams (CO), 4:39.6, $2500
3) Danielle Tauro (MI), 4:40.0, $1250
4) Kellyn Johnson (AZ), 4:40.2, $800
5) Frances Koons (NJ), 4:40.5, $500
6) Meghan Peyton (MN), 4:41.1, $325
7) Laura Thweatt (CO), 4:42.0, $150
8) Tara Erdmann (CA), 4:42.9, $100
9) Mason Cathey (IN), 4:46.1, $75
10) Stephanie Pezzullo (NC), 4:47.3, $50