Global Running News  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Deutsch Laufzeit      Carrera española      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

Tegenkamp takes USA 20K title

Matt Tegenkamp - USA 20k

INDIANAPOLIS – Monday, Sept. 2, 2013 – With strong competition from start to finish, U.S. Olympian Matt Tegenkamp (Portland, Ore.) and Team USA Minnesota’s Meghan Peyton (Richfield, Minn.) used strong final miles to pull away from their competition and win the men’s and women’s USA 20K Championships Monday morning in New Haven, Connecticut, hosted by the 36th Stratton Faxon New Haven Road Race.

The USA 20K Championships are the eighth stop on the USA Running Circuit, which concludes this fall with the .US National Road Racing Championships on Sunday, November 17 in historic Alexandria, Virginia. The top ten finishers at each race on the circuit qualify to compete in the .US National Road Racing Championships.

A fast first mile of 4:32, led by Ben Bruce (Flagstaff, Ariz.), quickly slowed to a more manageable pace, as pre-race favorites Tegenkamp, Shadrack Biwott (Eugene, Ore.), Josphat Boit (Mammoth Lakes, Calif.) and Abdi Abdirahman (Tucson, Ariz.) took control of the race.

Through miles 3-5, Tegenkamp, Abdirahman, Jason Hartmann (Boulder, Colo.) and Joseph Chirlee (Fort Sam Houston, Texas) rotated the lead, each taking their turn up front, as the rest of the lead pack sized each other up for what would become a grueling second half of the race due to the early humidity.

Through halfway, Biwott took over the lead, charging through the 10K split in 29:27. From there, Biwott pressed the pace, breaking most of the lead pack, while Tegenkamp, Chirlee and Abdirahman hung on gamely.

With Chrilee dropping off the pace by the eighth mile, the race heated up with Biwott, Tegenkamp and Abdirahman all taking turns pushing the pace. Through 11 miles the trio were neck and neck, before Tegenkamp made his move in the final mile pulling away to a ten second victory over Biwott in 1 hour, 10 seconds. Biwott finished national runner-up in 1:00:20, edging Abdirahman by one second, finishing third in 1:00:21.

Tegenkamp’s victory furthers his place atop the USARC standings, as he earned 15 points, giving him 50 total points, 17 points up on Mo Trafeh, who sits in second with 33. Biwott’s runner-up finish bumps him to third in the standings, surpassing Ben True and sitting a point behind Trafeh with 32. Abdirahman’s finish earned him ten points, as he jumped from eighth to fourth with 27 total points.

Behind Tegenkamp, Biwott and Abdirahman, Boit finished fourth in 1:01:17, earning seven points to take over fourth in the USARC standings, while Chirlee finished a strong fifth in 1:01:22.

Rounding out the top ten, Hartmann finished sixth in 1:01:28, Matthew Lano (Flagstaff, Ariz.) finished seventh in 1:01:39, while Timothy Ritchie (Brighton, Mass.), Augustus Maiyo (Colorado Springs, Colo.) and Sean Quigley (Philadelphia, Pa.) rounded out the top ten, each qualifying for the .US National Road Racing Championships.

In the women’s race, a tactical first 10K led to an exciting finish. From the gun, Kristen Fryburg-Zaitz (Broomfield, Colo.) jumped to the front of the lead pack, establishing a rhythm that served the leaders well.

As Fryburg-Zaitz led through the first five miles, Peyton placed herself just off Fryburg-Zaitz’ shoulder, as Katie DiCamillo (Providence, R.I.), Mattie Suver (Colorado Springs, Colo.), Wendy Thomas (Windsor, Colo.) and Delilah DiCresenzo (New York, N.Y.) established themselves up front.

At the 10K mark, which the lead pack hit in 34:39, Peyton put in a small surge, splitting up the pack, with only Suver and DiCamillo following. Thomas fell back to fourth, while Fryburg-Zaita and DeCresenzo battled for fifth.

At nine miles Peyton put in another surge and started to slightly pull away from Suver and DiCamillo. By the ten mile mark, Peyton gapped her followers by 30 meters and never looked back. Suver hung strong, trying to bridge the gap numerous times, but ultimately couldn’t reel Peyton back in.

Peyton ground down her competition in the final stages of the race to pull ahead for a 1:09:57 victory. Suver finished strong with a 1:10:25 runner-up effort, while Caitlin Comfort (Madison, Wisc.), who was fairly quiet the entire race, charged home for a surprise third place finish of 1:10:43.

Suver’s runner-up effort pushed her into the USARC standings lead with 47 points, two ahead of second place Janet Bawcom, while Stephanie Bruce sits one point ahead of Brianne Nelson with 29 points, as the final three races of the USARC season approach.

Behind the leading trio, DiCamillo edged Thomas by a single second, besting the 1:11 barrier with a 1:10:51 clocking. DiCrescenzo finished sixth in 1:11:00, while Frances Koons (Bryn Mawr, Pa.) ran strong for a seventh place finish of 1:11:02.

Fryburg-Zaitz faded to eighth in 1:11:47, while Esther Erb (Richmond, Va.) and Laura Thweatt (Boulder, Colo.) rounded out the top ten, both earning spots in November’s .US National Road Racing Championships.

36th Stratton Faxon New Haven Road Race: USA 20K Championships

New Haven, CT, Monday, Sept. 2, 2013

1) Matt Tegenkamp 31 M   Portland 1:00:10  $9000
2) Shadrack Bitwott 28 M   Eugene 1:00:20 $5000
3) Abdi Abdirahman 34 M   Tucson  1:00:21  $2500
4) Josphat Boit 30 M   Mammoth Lakes 1:01:17 $1500
5) Joseph Chirlee 33 M   Fort Sam Houston 1:01:22  $1000
6) Jason Hartman  32 M   Boulder 1:01:28 $700
7) Matthew Lano  25 M   Flagstaff 1:01:39 $600
8) Timothy Ritchie 26 M   Brighton 1:02:05 $500
9) Augustus Maiyo  30 M   Colorado Springs 1:02:19 $400
10) Sean Quigley 28 M   Philadelphia 1:02:25  $300

1) Meghan Peyton 27 F Minneapolis 1:09:57 $9000
2) Mattie Suver 25 F Colorado Springs 1:10:25 $5000
3) Caitlin Comfort 23 F Madison 1:10:43 $2500
4) Kathleen Dicamillo 26  Providence 1:10:51 $1500
5) Wendy Thomas 34 F   Windsor 1:10:52 $1000
6) Delilah Dicresconzo 30 F New York 1:11:00 $700
7) Frances Koons 27 F   Bryn Mawr 1:11:03 $600
8) Kristen Fryburg-Zaitz 32 F  Boulder 1:11:47 $500
9) Esther Erb 27 F   Richmond 1:11:54 $400
10) Laura Thweatt 24 F   Boulder 1:12:18 $300