Global Running News  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Deutsch Laufzeit      Carrera española      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

Team USA Marathon squad for Daegu

Tera Moody for Daegu

Tera Moody for Daegu

USA Track & Field announced Tuesday the Team USA women’s marathon squad for the 13th IAAF World Championships in Athletics, to be held in Daegu, Korea, August 27 – September 4.

Coming off of a fifth-place finish at the 2011 B.A.A. Boston Marathon, Kara Goucher (Portland, Ore.) will once again lead the Team USA women to the starting line in Daegu when competition gets underway on Sunday, August 27.

Joining Goucher on the line in Daegu will be her 2009 IAAF World Championships teammate Tera Moody (Colorado Springs, Colo.) who earned her place on the team with a personal best of 2:30:53 at the 2010 Bank of America Chicago Marathon.

2004 Olympic marathoner Colleen De Reuck (Boulder, Colo.), will also be on the line with Goucher and Moody thanks to her course record run of 2:30:51 at the 2010 Copenhagen Marathon.

Completing the five-woman squad will be Kathy Newberry (Ann Arbor, Mich.) and Alissa McKaig (Blowing Rock, N.C.), based on their top-five finishes at the 2010 USA Women’s Marathon Championships in New York City last fall where they finished third and fifth, running 2:35:23 and 2:37:29 respectively.

Arciniaga leads men’s team

The men’s marathon team will compete in Daegu on September 4 and will be led by Nick Arciniaga (Flagstaff, Ariz.), who locked-up his place on the squad with a second-place finish, running 2:11:30 at the Chevron Houston Marathon in January.

Team USA will also feature Sergio Reyes (Los Osos, Calif.) and Jeffery Eggleston (Flagstaff, Ariz.) the respective champion and runner-up from the 2010 USA Men’s Marathon Championship. Reyes won the title in 2:14:02 at the Medtronic Twin Cities Marathon last October and Eggleston finished just seven seconds behind, punching his ticket to Daegu.

Rounding out the men’s squad will be Mike Sayenko (Bellevue, Wash.) and Mike Morgan (Rochester Hills, Mich.) who earned their places on Team USA with their respective performances of 2:14:27 and 2:14:55 at the 2010 Bank of America Chicago Marathon.


  1. […] Team USA Marathon squad for Daegu is a post from: USA Marathon […]

Speak Your Mind