Global Running News  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Deutsch Laufzeit      Carrera española      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

Arciniaga takes Marathon win

Nick Arciniaga

Nick Arciniaga

Nick Arciniaga of Flagstaff, Ariz. notched a career first marathon win in 2 hours, 13 minutes, 11 seconds, edging Josphat Boit by three seconds to capture the USA Marathon Championships Sunday. In the women’s race, Annie Bersagel ran the downtown Minneapolis to St. Paul course in 2:30:53 for a comfortable win.

The victorious pair earned USA Marathon Championship titles with the wins and pocketed $25,000 each for their efforts.

Arciniaga, who finished eighth at the 2012 U.S. Olympic Marathon Trials, outkicked Boit in the final strides of the race, after a see-saw battle among the lead pack. Shadrack Biwott was third in 2:13:26.

“I wanted to be the first one to 24, the first one to 25, so I kept making intermediate goals for myself throughout the race,” Arciniaga said. “I tried to motivate myself to catch the group ahead and stay in it and fight. Right now, I’m elated. My legs hurt but I feel great. Better than any other marathon so far.”

Bersagel, a former NCAA Woman of the Year and Fulbright Scholar who trained with Team USA Minnesota early in her professional career, moved into the race lead after the 20 mile mark and built her margin as the final miles unspooled.

“I felt confident that those of us who were in the top five, that we were all pretty evenly matched,” Bersagel said. “So I thought, ‘If it’s going to hurt, it’s going to hurt for all of us.’ It was a big risk but I didn’t come here all the way from Oslo to try to run safe.” Bersagel, whose parents live in Victoria, now resides in Norway.

Laura Portis of Kalamazoo, Mich. was the national runner-up woman in 2:33:46.  Esther Erb of Richmond, Va. was third in 2:34:32.

Two-time Medtronic Twin Cities Marathon champion Mbarak Hussein won an unprecedented fourth USA Master Marathon men’s title in 2:20:21, while Sheri Piers, the 2011 USA Master women’s champ and the runner-up last year, won her second career title in 2:38:35.

8,849 runners finished the marathon, a new event record.  A new field record was also set at the companion Medtronic TC 10 Mile, with 8,554 runners finishing the race.  All told, more than 24,000 people participated in Medtronic Twin Cities Marathon Weekend events which included a 5K run/walk, 10K, and children’s events.

“We had a little bit of rain, a lot of sunshine and a great day of running,” Twin Cities In Motion Executive Director Virginia Brophy Achman said. “We are so grateful for the tremendous support of the Minneapolis and Saint Paul communities who help us host this wonderful celebration of health and personal achievement.”

“It was another great marathon championships today,” USA Track & Field Director of Events Jim Estes said. “It was good to see Nick and Annie win their first USA championship titles, as well as seeing Mbarak reclaim the overall masters title and Sheri taking the overall women’s masters crown.”

32nd Medtronic Twin Cities Marathon: 2013 USA Marathon Championships

Minneapolis, MN, Sunday, Oct 6, 2013


1) Annie Bersagel     30     Victoria, MN     2:30:52 $25,000
2) Laura Portis     26     Kalamazoo,   MI      2:33:42 $15,000
3) Esther Erb     27     Richmond,   VA     2:34:30 $10,000
4) Michelle Lilienthal     31     Minneapolis,  MN 2:34:49 $7000
5) Atalelech Asfaw      30     Albuquerque, NM     2:34:56 $5000
6) Wendy Thomas     34 Windsor,  CO 2:36:00 $4000
7) Nicole Camp     27     Cleveland Heights, OH     2:37:27 $3000
8) Sheri Piers     42     Falmouth,   ME     2:38:33 $2000
9) Meghan Peyton     27     Rrichfield,   MN     2:38:57 $1000
10) Sarah Cummings     24     New York, NY     2:39:27 $500


1) Nicholas Arciniaga     30     Flagstaff,   AZ 2:13:11 $25,000
2) Josphat Boit    29     Mammoth Lakes,   CA      2:13:14 $15,000
3) Shadrack Biwott    28     Folsom,  CA     2:13:25 $10,000
4) Sergio Reyes    31     Palmdale, CA     2:13:34 $7000
5) Christo Landry 27     Ann Arbor,  MI 2:14:44 $5000
6) Timothy Ritchie    26     Brighton,  MA 2:14:49 $4000
7) Jake Schmitt    26     San Francisco,  CA     2:15:09 $3000
8) Craig Curley    25     Tucson,  AZ     2:15:15 $2000
9) Malcolm Richards 30     San Francisco,  CA 2:15:48 $1000
10) Scott MacPherson 26     Columbia,  MO     2:16:02 $500


1) Sheri Piers    2:38:35      $7500


1) Mbarak Hussein  2:20:21  $7500

Speak Your Mind