Global Running News  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Deutsch Laufzeit      Carrera española      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

Davila named Athlete of the Week

INDIANAPOLIS – Desiree Davila has been named USA Track & Field’s Athlete of the Week after she came within two seconds of winning the 115th Boston Marathon on Monday.  Desiree Davila

Desiree Davila

Desiree Davila

Davila ran in sixth place for much of the first half of the race, as New Zealand‘s Kim Smith ran ahead to a big lead. However, after Smith pulled out of the race with leg cramps, Davila eventually moved to the front of the lead pack with three Kenyans. Over the last mile of the race Davila battled with the eventual victor, Caroline Kilel, in a a series of gutsy back-and-forth surges.Kilel edged Davila for the win in 2:22:36, with Davila only two seconds behind in 2:22:38. Davila now joins the ranks of Deena Kastor and Joan Benoit Samuleson to become the third-fastest American woman in history.

“I gave it all I had. It was the most incredible experience of my running career,” Davila said. “My legs were shot. There was nothing left.”

Now in its tenth year, USATF’s Athlete of the Week program is designed to recognize outstanding performers at all levels of the sport. USATF names a new honoree each week and features the athlete on the USATF website. Selections are based on top performances and results from the previous week.

While the weekly honor typically includes performances from the past Monday – Sunday, the timing of the Boston Marathon on Patriots’ Day Monday warranted an extension of the performance window.

Winners: January 5, Bill Tribou; January 12, Tyler Sorensen; January 20, Josh Cox; January 26,Ben Shorey; February 2, Ashton Eaton; February 9, Ashton Eaton; February 16, Bernard Lagat; February 23, Ryan Crouser; March 2, Jillian Camarena-Williams; March 10, Bill Collins; March 16, Miles Batty; March 23, Shalane Flanagan; March 30, John Nunn; April 6, Aries Merritt; April 13, Gunnar Nixon, April 20, Desiree Davila